The MT-07 Forum

New bike recommendation

Simplesam

Hey everybody.  I’m new to the forums and have a serious dilemma.  I’m in the market to look for a new bike. I’ve been riding for 5 Years on a Ninja 300 and this year I want to upgrade.  My thoughts are between a new MT 07 or 09 but not sure which.  I will be riding to work mostly on hwy about 45 min each way and for fun, I like twisty roads.  Learning on the 300 was good and all but after a while It got dull because it didn’t have a lot of grunt.  

Which is better on the twisty roads?  Is 09 that much different of an animal than 07?  I’ve seen a ton of YouTube videos but still can’t seem to make a decision on one or he other.  Also if it makes a difference I’m about 5’6 and 150 lbs.  

help? Lol thanks

The FZ-07 is one of the best commuting bikes ever made. Looks are sexy, exhaust is sexy and gets great MPG. 

I used to own an FZ-09, also a great bike and is allot more powerful but alot less MPG. I averaged only 37 mpg on mine but that's because I was busy doing wheelies and getting speeding tickets.

Test ride both and picture yourself riding it every day. 

• Premium Member

as an owner of both a FZ-07 and FJ-09... both bikes are just as nimble equally... I consider the FZ-07 an urban/city machine more so than the FJ-09 which is better once you start getting past the 55mph zones, its still comfy at city lvl but the FZ-07 gets the edge... my go to bike is the FJ-09 but dont mind taking the FZ-07 out on fri/sat night's ... 

between the 2 bikes they cover my motorcycle needs...

2015 fz-07- Hordpower Edition...2015 fj-09- 120whp- Graves Exhaust w/Woolich Race Kit- tuned by 2WDW

Stock , my opinion is the 07 is a VERY much better bike because of the very poor fuelling of the fly by wire throttle of the 09. The 07 is problematic but less so than the 09. Once reflashed , it is harder to judge. Both are great motors and the 09's suspension setup can be modded to a higher standard.