The MT-07 Forum

Something everyone should consider..

Cruizin

Unless you weigh 170 lbs, I suggest that you dial your suspensions in first before any other mods. Before exhaust, before seat, before anything.

Change the front weak springs to match your weight. Add heavier fork oil. Then, have a buddy help you set the sag on your bike, dial it in.

Suspension is the most important mod. It will save your arse in the corners and suspension will make you faster than any other mod available to man. Ya can't go racing thru the twisties on a pogo stick.

Remember, to get the FZ-09 and the FZ-07 to market at such a low price, Yamaha skimped on the suspensions quite a bit. Save some cash, maybe even add new cartridges to the front forks and remember to have someone help you set your sag. You will feel the difference because it is like night and day. It will feel like a whole different bike.

I'm new to bikes, where does one find stiffer fork springs for a bike that is brand new to the market? Or are they not brand specific and instead sized by diameter and stiffness?

- Alex

Guest montana07

I've read suspension upgrades are essential with the fz-09, especially if you are over 170lbs. But from what I hear the fz-07 suspension is quite good, or at least adequate. I'm sure an upgrade is a good idea if you're really going to attack the corners or if you're a big guy, but can any one comment that has time riding the 07? I'm hoping at 170lbs a suspension upgrade won't be required, or at least not immediately.

Guest brickst3r

I'm sure you'll be fine even at 200 pounds i don't think it's a must change. It would be a good performance upgrade if you were on the heavy side. I've seen 250+ pound dudes on 250cc bikes and it looked fine but a little weird is all. If your suspension doesn't slam down from your weight then you should be good with stock.