The MT-07 Forum

from a wr250x to a fz 07 ?

wr250x

Well like my username states, I've been riding my wr250x for almost two years. I've put about 5k miles on it so far. It's a 2011 that I bought used with 700 miles on it. I was riding a zuma 125 before that for about two years. That's my riding history. .so the question is would the 07 be a good next step up?
And I'm curious about how the transition might be....
So any out there with similar backgrounds please chime in :)
Thanks

My last street bike was a 2008 WR250X, a fun bike for sure.

I feel that if you liked the WR250X, you will like the FZ07.
The FZ07 feels like a dirt bike with a 75hp twin-cylindered engine tuned for low and mid range power and torque.
Short-shift it, ride the torque curve, and the FZ07 pulls very well, very much like a big bore thumper.
It feels thin, small, light and maneuverable, too, especially when you twist the right grip.
It's a fun-to-ride bike.

• Global Moderator

My last bike was a WRX too. I loved it. You can feel it's the same family but the 07 is so much more in every respect.

OK cool thanks for all the info..I remember before buying the wrx, reading all the reviews, and lots were mentioning the throttle being twitchy/ sensitive. And that mixed with the gearing means lots of shifting. I'm OK with the throttle and find myself with it wot lots of the time.
The 07, howz the throttle response and gear ratios?
My main roads for commuting are 45& 55 mph. No highways needed.
I'm just tossing this idea around because the wrx seems fine but the 07 could be fine with much fun..

• Global Moderator

No problems with my throttle response. I adjusted the cable slack a while ago and couldn't be happier. Gear ratio's are perfect imo. I am sure your are going to love the 07. You will not look back.

• Global Moderator

They took the slack out of the throttle at my 600 mile service. I wish I had done it earlier. It makes a big difference.