Sign in to follow this  
rocky1247

Let's talk tires

rocky1247

Got a puncture in my original front tire, time to replace and upgrade. Riding in cali, I want an aggressive slick grip tire with some slight tread for the light rain we'll likely see. Anyone have suggestions or experience? Stock wheels, and one size up in width for the front and rear tire is expected.

gregjet

Lots on this forum about tyres for this big. Going bigger is a complete waste of time and money. The rear is over the necessary size stock. Have a look in tyre section there is a posted link to motorcycles tyre choice video. The racer boys seem to have a thing for DunlopQ3's at the moment. For the road , I am a Pirelli Pilot Road 4 guy.

I would go a size SMALLER on the back ( 170/60) and drop a profile size on the front (120/60). Better profile matching and less weight ( so better accelleration). The 170/60 is almost the same diameter as the 180/55 so speedo won't be effected much

Edited by gregjet
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

mjh937

I am thinking of the Pilot Power 3 for my next tire.  I have not even ordered them yet so do not wait for my opinion. 

• Like 1

blackout

Bridgestone S21's are a great track and street tire.  Have not been caught in the rain yet though.

blackout

Mounted myself and used Counteract balance beads to balance.  Tough job, but went Ok. 

0707170722.jpg

0730171718-1.jpg

0704171322.jpg

0704171355.jpg

rick

Nice rim protectors. What brand are they?

blackout
18 minutes ago, rick said:

Nice rim protectors. What brand are they?

Pro Motion I believe.  Bought from STG or Revzilla. 

rick
1 hour ago, blackout said:

Pro Motion I believe.  Bought from STG or Revzilla. 

Yep, Motion Pro. Far nicer than the ones I use.

I used to do tires with clamps and irons - it always worked, but these big tires are no fun w/o having a stand with clamps to hold the rim. Takes a little investment for the gear, but worth it for me.