The MT-07 Forum

my homemade airfilter stage 2 cover. Is it ok?

henwithin

image.jpg

image.jpg

Can anyone here see a problem with what I did here to the oem airfilter cover to emulate dna and mwr stage two tops? Serious question, noob here too frugal to pay 80 dollars for a piece of plastic

I marked it, drilled many tiny holes down the line then took a bit a fire to edges to smooth it out

• Premium Member

Functionally I dont see a problem. Visually.....it looks like hell. I would have done it different but, as long as it works I guess it doesnt matter. $$$ saved is always good.

• Global Moderator

I agree it is not pretty but you will only see it when the seat is off, which is seldom. It looks functional and you saved yourself a lot of money. I cannot figure out why the covers sell for so much.

WOW, butchered that up pretty good ya did! and you posted a photo and asked if anythign is wrong? OK I will leave that one alone.

Idea was good, however your skills are lacking. Let me assist in your future endevours

If I were to do this

[ol type=decimal][*]I would not had posted a photo on line and then ask if anything is wrong
[*]You should had Drilled 4 holes in each corner where the tips of the corners closes to the screws would match the corners of each square
[*]I woild had then scored "LIGHTLY WITH A BRAND NEW EXACTO KNIFE OR CARPET BLADE) using a straight edge the outside paremiter of each hole to each hole[*]I would had then scored a little deeper with that straight edge to ensure a straight and accurate cut[*]I would had used a fine coping blade to then cut along that scored edge[*]I would had then used a fine file to clean those edges up[*]I would had then had the balls to post a pretty damn good job[/ol]
But thats just little ol anal me

“Laws that forbid the carrying of arms disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes.” --Thomas Jefferson quoting Cesare Beccaria