The MT-07 Forum

New to riding

mtalbo

Just completed the Motorcycle training course and got my M1. I have only ridden duel sports on the street and I am a beginner. 50 Yrs old and in good shape. Want more performance and comfort than a duel sport. Don't want a big Harley. I want a forgiving bike and don't want to upgrade later.   My local shop recommended the FZ-07. sound about right?  Buy new or used?

used. probably should move this to 'new rider' section. Have you read thru those threads?

bannerfans_1095431.jpg

5-10 180 Lbs. Not planning on being a daily rider but that could change if I really enjoy it. Safety is my top priority so if I get a FZ07 already thinking of getting a louder exhaust.

You wouldn't go wrong with the FZ 07. I have 3 friends who started on a FZ 07. As long as you have proper throttle control you should be fine on it. However if you get a chance to actually ride it then it would be helpful in your decision making. And also look at other bikes like the sv650, z650 etc.

I took an MSF class 4 years ago and just this year picked up an FZ-07. This is the first bike that I've owned/ridden on the street and I have no regrets. Good luck with your decision.

Not planning on being a daily rider ...   Safety is my top priority so if I get a FZ07 already thinking of getting a louder exhaust.
*sigh* 
As a newby you absolutely should plan on being a 4+ days of the week rider for a few months to develop a skills baseline. Louder exhausts do *NOTHING* to improve your "visibility" to others in traffic. Your horn (there's a couple threads on that), color of your ATGATT gear, and your awareness of and honed predictive analysis to recognize a developing situation and taking pre-emptive action is what matters.

If there is one simple thing that'll save your hide it's proper lane positioning.
bannerfans_1095431.jpg