The MT-07 Forum

Any tips for frame swap

mjdavis1994

So I've been a mechanic for 5-6 years now but never worked on bikes till my FZ. Everything is straight forward so far for any upgrades I've done. However unfortunately my subframe is bent slightly at the right rear peg and by the looks of it where the swing arm is connected is slightly tweaked. I've ordered a new frame/rims and am ordering a load of upgrades (integrated tail, rear sets, flush turn signal for the front, CRG Arrow bar end mirrors, crash cage and sub cage, and a few other goodies). So to my question, for the engine swap, is there any tips I should be aware about while pulling the engine? I know on the cager side of mechanics some engines are tricky or there are tricks to make things go so much easier. It'll be 2-3 months before I do this work being that I'm deployed but I'm trying to get all my ducks in a row first. I know there's a specialty tool for removing the lower triple tree mount and everything else looks pretty straight forward. Any tips to make things go smooth?
IMG_2833.jpg

IMG_1899.png

There realy is no secret.

Lotsa patience, a good radio station and allow for double the time you think it should take. Then just be methodical and try to move assemblies from the bike to the frame directly, building the bIke as you go. Avoid completely stripping the old one down to a pile of nuts and bolts  before begining rebuild. I've had mine apart several times to the frame and had the motor out three or four times. I use good notes, digital pics on my phone/Ipad, different sized zip lock bags and small boxes for sub assemblies or related parts groups. I still fark up tho so allow extra time for re-dos ?. 

Oh, and a case of beer helps, to pay assistants after job is done.

I don't know the answer to your question, but how did you get the damage? I don't see anything that points to a crash?