The MT-07 Forum

A bit overwhelmed. Some advice?

TennesseeCrusin

TennesseeCrusin

To start off, I started riding a year ago, on a suzuki s40. I traded up to the fz 07 yesterday. I definitely still consider myself a beginner.

It was a pretty impulsive buy, so I didn't spend a lot of time researching. I saw it thought it was pretty, I was comfortable on it and  i liked the balance of the bike, so I moved forward with the sale. I was under the impression the fz was a touring bike, but it is quite a bit more powerful and sporty than I expected, or intended. 

I really just like to relax and cruise along. I'm not into the stunts and the high speeds. I know it's probably a silly concern, but are there people with sportbikes (more specifically the fz) that ride more laid back, that aren't into popping wheelies and hitting speeds well over 100. I haven't met a person yet, who rides a sportbike, and not talk about high speeds or popping wheelies down the interstate.

I love the way the bike handles, and I think it's rather comfortable. I don't mind the torque, though I am still getting used to it. I do in fact feel safer on this bike, than the s40, as well.

Also, What are some helpful hints or resources you can point me to, that will help me improve my riding skill and help give me more confidence. I love riding, but I also love being alive and physically and mentally sound, so I want to learn as much as I can to help me stay that way.

18716498_10155318398594948_275483532_n.jpg

• Premium Member

There are any number of excellent online resources. One of which can be found in this thread. Watching the videos and taking the time to practice what he shows you will teach you a lot. I'm sure others will also offer good suggestions. I commend you wanting to learn to be a better rider. Best of luck to you. :)

DewMan

Just shut up and ride.

• Global Moderator

There are some of us that are not stunting or doing wheelies (well not on purpose at least).