The MT-07 Forum

Akrapovic carbon, autotune or no?

hughes5567

I'm new to the forum and new to tuning on efi systems. I've done a few older bikes with carburetors but this is my first time dealing with a PCV. What I have is a 2016 fz07 with a full akrapovic carbon system and a pcv that is mapped to the only akrapovic map available (titanium). The bike seems to run well but has some popping on gear change and decel and my #2 cyl appears to be running hotter than #1 judging by the header color. I know the maps that dynojet puts out are somewhat generic, but my question is, is autotune really worth the money? Will it make a difference in the way my bike runs? Keep in mind I am in Tennessee and deal with a lot of weather and altitude change on a normal ride. Thanks guys.

• Premium Member

Header color varies from too many variables to determine engine temps by exhaust color...

In order to use autotune you will need to weld another o2 sensor bung...also run a wire to allow per gear mapping
The decel popping is a byproduct of Yamaha ecu codes to achieve uber MPG by shutting off deceleration fueling, hence the monstrous engine braking the FZ-07 are known for...to solve that you will need an ECU reflash or a DIY bench flash kit...
I have autotune for my setup, still not 100% happy but more like 95% happy with results of my effort...took me about 3-4 months to get what I wanted, lots of trial and error and learning experiences...

Your best bet,even cheaper than autotune, is to pay for a an ECU reflash from the forum vendor 2wdw... you can pay for quicker shipping instead of the generic flat rate box rates/ship times, total time down is less than a week if you pick generic flat rate box shipping...the decel pop will be practicaly elminated, fan temps turn on quicker, no speed limiter and too much stuff to list that an autotune cannot do...

2015 fz-07- Hordpower Edition...2015 fj-09- 120whp- Graves Exhaust w/Woolich Race Kit- tuned by 2WDW