The MT-07 Forum

Change from a BMW K75?

stickynipples

stickynipples

Hi all,

I'm happy to be here.

I've been riding for a few years and consider myself fairly competent but of course nothing advanced at all. 

I have been riding an 1993 BMW K75 (75hp and 50 lb.fts on about a 500 lb bike) and am looking at getting an FZ-07 but am unsure of the purchase becuase the horsepower and torque figures are a downgrade even though the fizz is a much lighter bike. Would anyone be able to comment on whether this will be much of a change? I don't want to move sideways but also don't want to get a bike I'll kill myself on.

I have a 30" inseam and am about 160 lbs so I'm thinking the fizzer might be a perfect fit based on what I've read.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT: I'll mostly be riding around town, commuting, and having fun on weekends with this bike. No cross-country or track days but still looking for a bike I'll have a big grin when I ride.

For riding around town its hard to find a better bike than the 07, and it will be faster than the K75 but if you want a lot faster you may want something like the fz09.
There is no wind protection so commuting at high speed is not much fun. Gas milage is great tho.
Bang for the buck , among the best there is.

• Premium Member

The FZ-07 (MT-07) is over 120+ pounds lighter with a full tank of gas than the K75 (my FZ-07 is 380 pounds with full tank)... HP/TQ wise ,the stock FZ-07 puts almost 70hp/50tq to the rear wheel, its very close if the HP/TQ you listed for the k75 are at the rear wheel( if the HP/TQ you listed for the K75 are at the motor, than the K75 is underpowered compared to the FZ-07), but it's the 120 pound weight diffrence that's gonna make a world of difference...Im barely 180 pounds geared up with a 32×33 pant size and this FZ-07 doesn't miss a beat...

Where are you located? The US and EU bikes have a few stubble diffrences