The MT-07 Forum

Wrist Pain in Clutch Hand

philthyphil

I've been riding the FZ-07 for about 2 months now. I've put on a little over 2000 miles over that period of time, so I've ridden her quite a bit. When I first started riding I experienced a little bit of discomfort in my left hand from habitually working the clutch while in traffic. Most of the pain I felt at that time was in my middle and ring fingers around the middle knuckles. I chalked it up to the fact that my hand was doing things that it wasn't used to and that I would get used to it. For the most part that turned out to be true.

Fast forward to 8 days ago when I sent my ECU out in the mail, and had to go those 8 days without being able to ride. Today was the first day back to riding after 8 days without, and my wrist on my left hand is freaking killing me when riding in traffic. I rode around ALLOT today in town, so there was allot of stopping and going, and working the clutch. The pain wasn't apparent at first, but after a while It got to where every time that I had to pull the clutch in was agony. Not exaggerating. I finally had to head home and end my hooliganism around town because my wrist couldn't handle it anymore. I don't know why my wrist is hurting so bad now while riding. It wasn't doing that before. I'm pretty sure that I've ridden around town as much, or more in the past as I did today.

Is there anything I can do to remedy and/or avoid this? That is besides not riding for hours on end, because that would totally defeat the purpose. Should I be adjusting the position of the clutch lever or something?