The MT-07 Forum

Shifting Technique

garlic

I am in Jersey. 41 years old. Picked up my FZ last Sunday. I am loving the FZ. I have been riding for less than 2 years. Curious to hear how others have perfected their shifting styles. I learned quickly that finding the right grip and number of fingers on the clutch made a huge difference in my smoothness and quickness in shifting. Would love to hear from others on this forum how they perfected shifting style for optimal speed and or smoothness. Obviously nothing beats more experience. Just curious to hear from others and their experience specifically with the FZ. Everything on this forum has been very helpful. Thank you.

Just get to know where that friction point is on the clutch and keep riding. Practice makes perfect! I don't really even think about it anymore it just happens. Just be careful when your getting on the gas hard in first that you don't shift into neutral instead of second >:D Not only did I miss the gear and rev the engine up but I also racked myself on the gas tank pretty hard lol. I had to pull over for a few minutes to recuperate haha (rofl) 

I agree 100% on experience. The more I ride the more I realize how subtle the movements are. Being too deliberate slows everything down. I feel like the quicker the movements the smoother the shift. Obviously all related to matching the revs to the speed. Seems easier to do when pushing the bike a little.

• Premium Member
hippiebikerchick

I'm still getting used to shifting on this bike. The engine breaking is strong so if you don't shift right away you are held back. I found that my smoothest shifting is when I'm not trying to accelerate super fast. The best way to learn is to keep riding and doing it! Shouldn't be too hard to take that advice!  :)

Illegitimi non carborundum

• Global Moderator