The MT-07 Forum

Fuel gauge off

edgar

Ok so I've been meaning to ask here for awhile now but I always forget. So my FZ (2015) was purchased used, seller wasn't completely honest with me, surprise surprise, and I found that all the wiring behind the headlight has been cut up and crimped back together. I'm assuming he effed up the headlight and Mickey Moused it all back together but who knows. Anyway, the fuel gauge has always been off. For example today I had only one bar left in the fuel gauge but when I put gas in it, it only fit 1.3 gallons. Obviously we know it's a 3 gallon tank so you can see the issue here. I'm preparing to take some longer rides as the spring comes so I want this taken care of

Where do I start? What do I look at/replace. I'm not a mechanic but I can do basic things and have a decent amount of tools. Any help is GREATLY appreciated

I bought my bike brand new and I've noticed that when I drop into the f mode and get to the pump I fill up gas to the rim of the tank and I'm only able to fill up like 2.4 gallons.. Not sure if all fz's are like that or if I have an issue.. Soo I assume one can do 50+miles in f mode if there is soo much fuel in "reserve"

• Premium Member

When the F starts flashing and the trip counter shows x amount of miles on E thats when your on reserve...general consensus seems to be about 25-30 miles on the flashing F... I tend to ignore the fuel guage.. I go by miles i rack up and then check where the fuel is when im near my limit

2015 fz-07- Hordpower Edition...2015 fj-09- 120whp- Graves Exhaust w/Woolich Race Kit- tuned by 2WDW

You want an off fuel gauge, get a Kawasaki. Haha. Hmm... 4.5 gallon tank (my kawasaki), I'm on my last bar. *goes to gas station, puts in 1.5 and its full*