The MT-07 Forum

IXIL Exhaust Owners -- Reviews? How do you run it?

Musical Motorist

Musical Motorist

Hi all!  I know the subject can be "exhausting"  (rofl)  but I wanted to poll others that have the IXIL Hyperlow since I'm seriously considering buying it. 

First off, I've seen some complaints about the welding finish. I'm not a mechanically inclined person, so I'm wondering how serious this is when it comes to the overall aesthetic of the exhaust visually when it's installed as well as whether it affects the performance or not; this is not to say I'm looking for huge performance gains (I just like the sound and the look a lot!!), rather I'm wondering if it affects the way the bike actually runs.  Thoughts on this?

Secondly, I'm still really lost about ECUs, power commanders, and EJKs.  I feel like I'm staring at the Matrix when I see/hear these terms -- again, not mechanically inclined and really just looking to enjoy the exhaust for what it is as a part of my ride.  Which of these is the simplest?  I imagine there are pros and cons, and if anyone would like to help out Capt. Clueless here it would be greatly appreciated. 

Thirdly, what are your overall thoughts on the exhaust itself?  I've really scouted for a while and I know people lose their minds over Akra, Two Bros., and Yoshi, but the twins on the IXIL honestly made me grin (along with the sound!). The other thing is that here in AZ you legally have to ride with baffles and I'm probably the only person in the world that doesn't want to be that guy blaring his exhaust down the road baffle out....I try to be a nice biker  :)   It seems like you can remove the baffles and replace them quite easily on this exhaust though?  I'm not sure having not owned one, but that's the reason I started this thread was to poll those far more experienced than me!

Thanks for your patience with the noob and for sharing your expertise -- I really hope I can grasp a better understanding based on the experience of others!