The MT-07 Forum

New to the forums from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

cmiller94

I'm new to the forums, but a, considering buying an FZ07, so I figured I should join an FZ07 forum to hopefully learn some more about them. I've been riding for 2 years now. My first bike was a 2005 Ninja 500. I rode it for a season and then made the mistake of thinking I was ready for an upgrade and needed more power. I always told myself I wasn't going to be that person that bought something too big too fast, but I ended up doing just that. So I bought myself a 2000 CBR929RR. I rode that for all of this past season and other than straight line speed, I never really liked it. I just sold it on December 18. Before I had sold it, I was pondering what to buy next. My search has included many, many bikes, but the FZ07 is what I'm probably the most serious about.

I have some concerns/stupid questions with getting an FZ07 and am hoping that this forum can alleviate those concerns and answer my questions. :)

Here they are:
- How easily does it wheelie? A gentle roll on with my 929 would lift the front tire in first or second gear. I know an FZ07 is a lot less power, but being light, torquey, and a short wheel base, I worry it'll wheelie too easily. I know to some people that may sound dumb, but I'd rather something wheelies by me clutching it up, not power wheelies. That was something I liked with the 500 was that full throttle was very doable in any gear. The 929 made cornering scary because if you rolled on too fast in a second gear corner, the front end got light and could lead to tank slappers. 
-What's the fuel range like? Ive heard the tanks are quite small, but is the range okay? The 929 was lucky to make 150 miles on a tank. 
-Any problems specific to an FZ07 to watch for when buying used? 
-I've heard the suspension isn't great on the FZ07. How bad is it?