The MT-07 Forum

Rear tire hugger

skiddum

Hey guys I'm looking for a rear tire hugger. I've been looking at some of them and im looking for something that's actually effective. Allot of the ones I've looked for the Fz 07 have vents in them and are short. The one I'm looking at is just the extender. In all honesty I'm a plastic welder and I'm thinking about taking the one off my bike and using some FiberFlex and just welding some on an buff it out. Then I can make it as long as I'd like and wrap around the tire in fashion.

i like that idea. Best of all, it'll be cheap for you to do and custom to boot.

While yer at it, see if there's a way to extend that hugger forward to protect the suspension linkage from sponge thrown off the tire.

I'm sure it could be done easily enough. They have this thing at revzilla that wraps around the shock to help stop some of that as well

Was thinking more on the order of this - http://www.moorespeedracing.co.uk/aprilia-pyramid-puig-rear-huggers/aprilia-rst1000-futura-black-pyramid-hugger.htmlwhere that long straight section faces vertically in front of the wheel. Wrapping the shock would be better than nothing, but won't do anything to protect the bearings in the links.

Was thinking more on the order of this - http://www.moorespeedracing.co.uk/aprilia-pyramid-puig-rear-huggers/aprilia-rst1000-futura-black-pyramid-hugger.htmlwhere that long straight section faces vertically in front of the wheel. Wrapping the shock would be better than nothing, but won't do anything to protect the bearings in the links.
That link isn't working

Was thinking more on the order of this - http://www.moorespeedracing.co.uk/aprilia-pyramid-puig-rear-huggers/aprilia-rst1000-futura-black-pyramid-hugger.html   where that long straight section faces vertically in front of the wheel. Wrapping the shock would be better than nothing, but won't do anything to protect the bearings in the links.
That link isn't working