The MT-07 Forum

The Bike Merry-Go-Round

vroomvroom

I'm new to motorcycles, this was my first season riding, first bike. Nobody in my family rides, nor do any of my friends.

I say all this because I am a bit surprised... individuals who rave about this bike, even to the point of visiting a forum daily... Slowly but surely many of you are selling off your FZs.

Is this normal in the motorcycle community? For people to love a bike but still move on from it in only a handful of years?

As a newfound lover of motorcycling, am I doomed to the same fate?

This is a copy and paste I replied in some other topic, I added a few more things though:

Motorcycles are a very personal thing for many. The characteristics, fit, looks.  You cannot get a true feel for a bike until you rack up some miles on it. Sitting on a bike in a showroom doesn't give you everything you need. How the bike feels when you lean onto it. The suspension. Everything is a small nuanced detail which you need to experience. Some things you can correct with money if you need to (such as the suspension) but many things you probably can't correct if it isn't a great fit.

You can go two ways if you feel the bike doesn't fit you well. If you have money, you can just buy another bike. But for many, it requires selling the current bike so they can find the next bike to see if it fits them better.

Then there is boredom.  The need for something new.