The MT-07 Forum

Waterproof storage solutions? Backpack, saddle or tail bags?

JuggernautOfWar

JuggernautOfWar

I am in need of waterproof storage on my FZ-07. I just sold my truck so now my bike is my primary means of commuting, and here in Oregon it's starting to rain most days. Not sure if saddle bags, a backpack, or a tail bag would work best for my needs. Currently my commute consists of 22 miles round trip to school and back mostly in the rain on the highway. I have no way of getting school supplies and my 17.3" MSI laptop to and from school while remaining dry, and this needs to change.

A nice optional feature would be something I can secure to the bike while riding then when I get to class easily detach it from the bike and take the container in to class with me. I'm hesitant to get an expensive backpack since it strains your back while riding and once my degree is finished I'll not really have a need for a backpack, but saddle or tail bags would remain effective.

This is a wishlist I put together showing the two products I'm currently thinking about getting, though I can only get one of the two at this time. http://www.revzilla.com/wish_list/detail/196084

Do you have any recommendations or suggestions for me? The bike is designed to be pretty small and I want to respect that, but I really need something for rainy commutes and day trips.

Below is a picture of how my bike looks. I'm not sure if saddle bags would even work due to the tail tidy eliminating potential tie-down locations.

Z1JB4DS.jpg

2015 Red FZ-07
Yoshimura Works R77 Carbon Fiber Full Exhaust
Puig Dark Smoke Touring Windshield

• Premium Member

I run a pelican backpack (which I've waterproofed) and a Nelson-rigg seat bag that has a rain cover.

Haven't really had to test either yet, but I can fit my 17" laptop, 4 notebooks, about 80ft of Cat5/6, a wireless router, a 8port PoE switch, and the crap that goes with that.