The MT-07 Forum

Highway Riding Question

ajenda07

Hello, so I am new to riding, about 3 months in..I love it ha. But on the highway I am not comfortable at all. I see people on bikes flying by me. Not that I want to be a "crazy" guy on the highway, I do want to open up some power though. What happens is the wind makes me feel like I am going to loose control or fly off the bike. Turning my head to look in the mirrors/head check before lane changing also is kind of scary. My bike came with a windscreen but it was too large and hated the appearance. Would a smaller screen help me out? Or is this something that people get used to? I feel like I have to hang on for life and it actually uncomfortable after 10-15 minutes. Any advice would be appreciated!
Full_Size_Render.jpg

Depends on the speed. Around 75 or so I definitely feel like I am being blown off. That is part of riding a naked standard. They have the power for highway and interstate, they're just not designed aerodynamics for it. You'd always have that feeling. You may get used to it but by very design even buffeting will be infinitely worse.

If you want to keep the FZ07 and do a lot of riding like that it is best you have a windshield. The one pictured looks like it would do fantastically and you should just put it on.

If looks were THAT important you could try a PUIG New Gen ST like I have. It works well. Not nearly as well as the one you have now though I imagine.

My smallish windscreen (39 cm) keeps the wind off my chest, which is the most important thing to me only because it keeps the gnat massacre off my clean shirts. Usually, unless there is a freakish, coastal blast of wind, I can deal with cruising speeds between 70-80 mph. Over 80 it can start to get a little choppy.

http://www.motomachines.com/Ermax-Nose-Screen-39cm-for-Yamaha-FZ-07_p_5021.html

Beemer