The MT-07 Forum

170/60 Rear Tire Initial Impressions

chuckles

I know swapping to a 170/60 tire has been talked about in other threads but since it appears that I am the first to try it, I figured I would make a separate thread sharing my results. The main reason I am trying the 170/60 tire instead of the 180/55 stock tire is I have noticed what I will call a "dead spot" when at higher lean angles as in it requires a lot more counter steer once you are at a certain angle to get the bike over more. Now I am relatively new to riding (2 years in ~12k miles) but from what I have researched, multiple sources are stating that the 180/55 tire is oversized for our FZs and that it contributes to the harder turn in. The preferred tire size would have been a 160/60(like the SV650) but since we have a 5.5" rim the best we could do without a wheel swap is the 170/60. So I decided to try it. 

I picked up a Road Pilot 4 trail (the 170/60 is not available in the standard) and received it this afternoon from Revzilla. The unmounted bead to bead dimension is around 4" and the profile looks ridiculously sharp. I decided to cut a doll rod into a few chunks and stick them in the tire to get the dimension to 5.5" for a better idea of the mounted shape. It is definitely sharper than the 180/55 but appears to be reasonable and should help with the "dead spot". I have roughly 1500 miles left on the stock tire so I wont mount it for a couple weeks but I wanted to share my first impressions along with some pictures. I will provide mounted pictures and a preliminary ride report once it is mounted up and scrubbed in. (Pardon the flat spot I live in N. IL)

IMG_2282.jpg

IMG_2289.jpg

IMG_2286.jpg

IMG_2285.jpg

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply
AlbatrossCafe

I had a fat flat spot from commuting on my pilot road 3's as well. Then I swapped it out for the Pilot Road 4 like you except that I kept the stock tire size.