The MT-07 Forum

FZ07 on Interstate

ssdawood

I am a new rider in US. In India I used to ride smaller 250 cc for 4 years before I moved here.
Range of speed was between 40 to 80kms. Nothing compared to here.

I habe taken my bike on 84 interstate a couple of times. I feel very confident when I am riding below 55mph. I can feel the bike hugging the road and I habe full control.

But going on Interstate once I cross 55mph the bike feels very light. I don't feel the bike is hugging the road anymore and I don't feel confident riding .

Is it because I am new to these speeds and overtime it will build confidence.

Or is it that fz07 being a naked handles a little poorly on Interstate at speeds above 55mph and that's why I feel not confident.

Any help would be appreciated. Luke I said first time new rider experiencing these speeds.

I would not call it a full wobble but it definately feels like the front wheel and bar is a little wobbly at 60 plus mph

When I look down I don't see it wobbling but it feels unstable.

With speed, your inputs change. The force you apply to the bars will be different at 45mph vs 75mph. You need very little input on a highway at high speeds vs making a turn in a neighborhood at 20-25mph. I ride interstate ~75 quite often and have never felt that my FZ-07 was light or not planted.

I wonder if possibly you are not used to the wind blowing you around especially around large vehicles?

Yes that could be the reason. Luke I said first being around that kind wind and speed.

This morning I did 74 easily on 84. I was confident even with wind around me.

Maybe it was me and my new rider syndrome. Plus also the bike is still breaking in. It has 200 miles only.

I am thinking it will get easier. Maybe I am too new to these speeds.

• Global Moderator

When I first started riding on the interstate I felt the same as you about the front end feeling light. Now I do not notice it. Just give it some time.

pineappleunderthesea