The MT-07 Forum

Dizzy and loss of focus

roawser

Hi all

When I ride for an hour or so I notice I start to loose concentration. I get tunnel vision and automatically I slow down my average speed. I have only 1000km in total (new rider) and still have to work pretty hard to process all information in traffic. I am an experienced car driver (over 40000 km/year) and I am physically fit enough for my age (mid 40); not hungry or thirsty or exhausted when I start my ride. Other than that, I really enjoy riding but right now I'm afraid I might never go on longer trips because of this lightheadedness that I feel. I guess I'm just curious to know if other newbies have or had the same thing.

mediocrebobcat

Not a newbie and haven't experienced this problem while riding, but I'll take stab.

I get this way sometimes after particularly challenging days at work where my brain is moving non-stop. I get a headache, lose concentration, etc. Going on what you said, you're probably getting mentally exhausted by having your brain 'always on' while you are riding. That's not to say you shouldn't always be paying attention - you absolutely should - but after a while it becomes more of a second nature instead of active thought. I recommend that you just keep riding, keep gaining experience, and see if it starts to get better. What type of conditions do you usually ride in? Suburbia? City? Empty back roads?

Alternatively, maybe your helmet is too tight.

thomascrown

You are probably very tense and have a death grip on the bars. This will exhaust you quickly. Relax your arms, hold the motorcycle with your thighs and stay loose. The handlebar is not a means of support, only a means of control.