The MT-07 Forum

Doing things the hard but awesome way...

geddyt

Not a project that everyone is up to but a damn nice job! Sounds like it's going to work alright and it looks sharp! Are you a mechanic?

Beemer

Not a project that everyone is up to but a damn nice job! Sounds like it's going to work alright and it looks sharp! Are you a mechanic?
Sort of.  I was a vehicular design student for a few years in college, but I didn't really put a lot of effort into it at the time due to other distractions, so I'm 99% self-taught.  I did take a few machining courses, CAD/CAM courses, etc. at the time that at least taught me what's possible, but most of this project was all YouTube University and Google graduate school...  I mostly just started doing my own wrenching to make dirt and track riding (and owning a Ford...) more affordable.  Done several engine rebuilds (see: Ford...), built a handful of track bikes, etc. 
None of that really mattered for this build, though.  If you've got some accurate measuring tools and patience with research, this front end swap is doable for even a novice mechanic.  The most important part is deciding what donor front end you want to use, as fork leg length, offset, and steering bearing sizes are important--maybe even color/look of the wheel, if you're into that sort of thing.  I spent a bit of time at the local dealership with a tape measure, comparing various bikes and considering donor parts.  Since we used a GSX-R front end, the SV650 guys are a wealth of knowledge as far as dimensions and geometry goes.  Not sure what's out there if you want to use Yamaha parts.