The MT-07 Forum

Turbo build

dpc46

Turbo build

So I am very hesitant on posting this as I hate starting/ sharing a project and not finishing it. Maybe this might be the push to get someone to do it to theirs also.

I toyed with the idea of doing a turbo on my GSXR 750 for a long time but never went for it. My fabrication skills were not up to where I wanted them (still not). I am not independently wealthy so I cant just buy a turbo kit, so I'll take a stab at making it.

Keep in mind this will be a budget built. I am not over concerned with looks but rather functionality. I am not looking for crazy horsepower. I am not a professional. I love tinkering in the garage and seeing how things work but building it myself.

Through research I narrowed it down to 2 main types of turbos. A Borg Warner K03 and a Garrett TD04 (or something equivalent). The K03 comes on almost every VW/ Audi. The TD04 comes on many cars, the ones I found the most of were off a Saab 9-5 and 9000.

I was hoping to find a smaller Garrett GT12 but they don't come on any vehicles around here and I won't pay $800 for a brand new one. This is a budget build after all.

I went to the local Pick-N-Pull in search of the cars.

The Saab turbos are typically mounted behind the engine, up against the firewall so that was going to be option #2 just because the process of removal. (Some older Saab 9000s have the turbos mounted up front and are very easy to remove but the ones at my junk yard were toast)

I found a VW Passat that had almost the entire front clip removed already. Someone was going after the top end of the motor and had the bumper, radiators, exhaust manifold and intake system already removed. All I had to do was remove the oil feed to the turbo and unbolt it.

After bringing it home I took off the water system as I will not be using it

49FD2964-89DC-473C-8662-5B1F1D8C2947_zpsdrbcn6on.jpg