The MT-07 Forum

Akrapovic Exhaust Install

thez11

Hey all! I am new to the forum and just wanted to say hello to everyone. I bought my FZ-07 about a year ago and I decided its time to replace the lame stock exhaust with the Akrapovic exhaust. I decided I wanted to do the install myself and thought I would come here for any advice and tips before getting started. I'm new to doing work on bikes however I work in construction and I am familiar with tools and tinkering etc. From what I read it doesn't seem to be a huge task to take on but I just wanted to get some tips from people who have already done it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!

Well, it isn't hard at all. You come from construction background, so it should be more than easy-peasy for you. I had zero background in all aspects- I work on computers, and it was easy for me.

Akrapovic comes with a very detailed instruction with pictures.

One thing though is unless they updated the instructions, there are a few errors. On the instructions it shows torque for header bolts as 16lbs. But in the FZ07 tech manual, it is 14lbs. The rearset bolts shows 16lbs as well on the instructions but the tech manual shows 22lbs.

To make things easier you should have some form of automotive grease on hand to coat the header gaskets. This gave many people a problem- the gaskets constantly falling out while you try to mount the headers on. Put some grease on the gaskets, so when you place them, they stay in place.

It would probably be a very good idea to get any helping hand (even if they have no experience) to hold up the pipe while you are trying to line up the headers.   Don't need any experience to prop something up with their helping hands.  I mean, its not needed but it just makes it much easier.

Engaging with people that have personality disorders on a message board is like arguing with a rock.