The MT-07 Forum

New in AZ

maritan

Hi Folks,

TLDR: I do not have an FZ yet. Doing my research before I take the plunge.

I have some experience riding motorcycles. I started out with a 2001 Suzuki SV650 that when I first got it, fell in love with. It was so much fun. I had a goofy grin on my face every time I went out on a ride with it. And the best part was that I was able to have fun with it even while commuting. Well, I got in an accident (car pulled out of a parking lot and cut me off) and totaled the bike. I bought the bike back and with the help of a friend, over six months, restored the bike to better than original: GSXR forks (triple, wheel etc.), Penske shocks, ported and polished the intake and exhaust valves, upgraded the shift mechanism, better air filter, adjusted carburetor settings and dynoed it to fine tune air/ fuel ratio.

Two weeks after the bike was complete and rideable and tuned to where it wasn't running too rich or lean through the rev range, I got it inspected, approved and went to where my buddy was working to let him know that I had passed inspection. While I was talking to him, someone came into the store and asked me if the red bike out in the parking lot was mine. I said yes, and he said someone had run over my motorcycle. :'( >:D I ran out ready to beat the guy within an inch of his life and my buddy ran out to prevent that from happening.

The idiot parked next to me had turned out of his parking spot too soon without backing out enough and had run over the front end of my SV. And with his car still over my motorcycle, he was trying to pull out the SV from underneath it. End result? You guessed it: totaled again.

Bought the bike back again from the insurance, fixed the bike back up again and this time decided to make it a track bike. And what fun that was. I eventually even raced competitively for half a season before the economy took a nasty dive. My sponsor ran dry and I couldn't pick up another one in time for the next season.