The MT-07 Forum

Old(er) newb

Jeckler

• Premium Member

Name's Andy. I'm from Mesa, AZ. I've been riding off and on for about 30 years. I started with hotwiring my brother's Yamaha 850 triple, then taking his CB750F SS (using the key this time) out on joyrides. I had an '81 GS650G for a few years, then a Nighthawk 750 and just recently, a '14 Ninja 1000.
I just sold the N1K last week to due a couple issues. I was either going to die on it, or go to jail. It can do 0-nomorelicense in about 4 seconds. Also I had issues with vibration making my hands go numb after 30 minutes or so. 
I've ridden the FZ's at demo rides, first the 9 when it came out and loved it, except for the snatchy throttle business, and then the 7 when it was released. I haven't spent a significant amount of time on either one though. Which brings me to my next bike. I love the look on the new Indian's. So I rented a Chief Vintage yesterday for an extended 'test ride'. I ended up bringing it back early for a couple reasons, most notably was that I really couldn't stand having my feet in front of me, and my back was absolutely killing me by about 50 miles in.
So I'm back to looking at nakeds. I could go for an 09, but I'd be in almost the same boat, speed-junky wise as the Ninja. The 07 seems to still have the power to get me where (and when) I want to go, but I'd be able to enjoy it more. I've also looked at the SFV650. In fact, my buddy has one and it's been in my garage (condo, parking lot re-surface) for a couple weeks and I've taken it out on a few rides. It doesn't quite have the oomph I'm looking for, but IIRC from riding the 07, it does. Or maybe not, being spoiled on 1043cc.