The MT-07 Forum

FZ-07SS - Racebike Build

gogokawi

Howdy folks.  This is my first time creating a thread on the forum.  So be gentle...

I picked up a used 2015 FZ-07 mid January so that I can race it in the lightweight class and do track days.  Why this bike?  Three main reasons:
1. My blood is green. But Kawasaki's Ninja 650 isn't that great of a platform without some serious modification. Disappointed!
2. I bought a SV650 and realized that I don't like V-Twins.  Plus I didn't like the proportions and ergos of the bike.
3. Most importantly, THIS

When I saw the bike in the link and started researching, I knew I had to have it.  It's the perfect combination between my Ninja 300 and the SV650 in terms of weight, size, power, and style.  My only gripe is it's a Yamaha.  Now, I don't dislike Yamaha at all.  My issue with Yamaha is that the bikes they make are so good, the race grids are full of them.  In middleweight class, 80% of the bikes are R6's.  It's kind of funny to look at.  Right now, no one is rocking the FZ-07 on the east coast, and I like that.  I guess I have to be different.

On to the good stuff!  To get race ready, new parts are needed.  Lots of new parts!  So many parts in fact that my room is full of empty boxes, bubble-wrap, packing slips, and boxes with aluminum goodies covered in plastic.  Mostly everything has been ordered.  I'll give a rundown of what I have and will have:
[ul type=disc][*]Yoshimura R77 Full Exhaust[*]Woodcraft clip-ons (41mm with 2inch rise)[*]Woodcraft rearsets[*]Adjustable, long breakaway levers[*]Replacement chain adjusters with spools[*]K&N race filter[*]Spiegler stainless brake lines[*]EBC EPFA brake pads[*]Lithium battery[*]Engine Ice Coolant[*]JRI Race shock[*]Andreanni Fork Carts[*]Flashed ECU and quickshifter[*]Race body work and mounts[*]Rearset brackets[*]Radiator Guard[/ul]