The MT-07 Forum

Motodynamics taillight and blinkers?

churchxd

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Premium Member

Nice! Im still tempted to do this one too. Care to show us the wiring job on the backend?

Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women.          Fuss Life.

Nice! Im still tempted to do this one too. Care to show us the wiring job on the backend?
fd434ac783c3b0d8fed5f6ccf4659af8.jpg
I ran out of red, purple is my substitute

Aren't you going to burn up those first lights on each leg? Shouldn't they all be in parallel? Forgive me if I'm wrong, I'm in mechanical engineering not electrical. I'm guessing those leds are rated at 3v or so, supplying them with 12v won't make them last very long.

• Premium Member

Great! Thanks for taking the time to post this.  Nice clean job too.

Im a bit of a noob with this DIY lighting; what style/version of led did you use?

Crush your enemies. See them driven before you. Hear the lamentations of their women.          Fuss Life.

• Premium Member
Aren't you going to burn up those first lights on each leg? Shouldn't they all be in parallel? Forgive me if I'm wrong, I'm in mechanical engineering not electrical. I'm guessing those leds are rated at 3v or so, supplying them with 12v won't make them last very long.
 Damn...got to make it difficult for me now? ;) This stuff is all "french" to me. Regardless, thanks for the insight. Looks like I have some homework to do. 

Ok I talked to one of the engineers at work that knows electrical better than anyone else here. You should be fine with that set up assuming those have a forward voltage drop less than 3V. That will be v_f on their data sheets. Most LEDs are 2-2.5V so I'm thinking no worries.

• Global Moderator

Has any one hooked up a motto dynamics tail light and blinkers? I just made these and I wanna hook em up. cd14d33aa5605fba51ae3ff0e98dc180.jpg

I have mine setup with the motodynamics taillamp