The MT-07 Forum

Suspension for NEWBS

sorkyah

• Global Moderator
I am an automotive technician. I know about cars, specifically Chrysler. Suspension however is a dept in which I'm lacking knowledge. I know that suspension increases ride comfort, I know that alignment angles can wreak havoc on a vehicle's drive-train if left unchecked, BUT I don't know the performance side. Performance auto, and Motorcycle suspension, measurements, terminology, and adjustment are foreign to me, and quite possible foreign to the new riders out there as well. 

I've seen a few videos but nothing really goes into detail regarding what each measurement/item does what compounds on what, how adjusting one will adjust the other.

For the fork cartridges @pattonme installed, I used a video on YouTube that described what I should be feeling and what I shouldn't, when setting them up. It didn't describe what forces were acting or reacting, why turning an adjuster 1/4turn helped.

Matt, @gregjet
You guys know your stuff, care to help out a NEWB?
There's more out there, I just don't know who you are.(sorry in advance, hopefully you'll get dragged in here to sound off too)

I want to learn about Moto-suspension and how/why it works, what makes it tick as it were.
any help you guys can give... I'd greatly appreciate  and I'm sure the other new riders out there will too

sorry for being long winded in this

ATGATT... ATTATT, two acronyms I live by.

I would recommend doing some reading or further youtube-watching; eg. the Suspension for Mortals videos by Traxxion Dynamics are available from their youtube channel - see them sequentially...

I also recommend reading the Suspension Bible by Racetech for more technical info on how parts work.

This should provide a good solid base understanding - the info in above is to an extent opinionated, but not necessarily wrong - there are however several different solution and choices available.

• Global Moderator