The MT-07 Forum

Newbie Question....

rwynne24

So since I am fairly new to motorcycles and my dad has only had Harley's his entire life I wanted to see if you guys could help me out! I wanted to get my chain cleaned as well as just take an overall look around and under the bike but I don't have the rear spools for it. My dad however has a motorcycle jack where it essentially looks like a floor jack for a car with the 2 bars and such. Is there a way to jack my bike up with this? I can't find anywhere underneath where I imagine it would go without causing some sort of damage.... I do have the M4 exhaust installed if that would pose an issues. Just tired of doing the whole 2 person pushing the bike while I'm spraying and cleaning it deal lol. Any help is appreciated it! Thank you!

• Global Moderator

This does not answer your question, but I got a rear stand from Harbor Freight for about $30. It is pretty good quality and I use it more than I expected.

• Premium Member

You really need a rear stand -- you can't lift the bike with a normal floor jack-type lift. And most rear stands don't *require* spools -- they are just a convenience and a peace of mind for some people.

• Global Moderator
Is this the stand you were talking about ?  
http://m.harborfreight.com/motorcycle-swingarm-rear-stand-65620.html

If not would this one work for our bikes?
That is the one I have. It works great. After the first few times it gets less nerve-racking to use :)    I hold my bike by the seat strap when I am putting it on the stand and that seems to work well. The first few times I had a friend with me to help in case I got it wrong. 

• Premium Member
This does not answer your question, but I got a rear stand from Harbor Freight for about $30. It is pretty good quality and I use it more than I expected.
I'm sure I will get poo poo'ed  but I've put my jack under the oil pan just getting the rear tire off the ground with the kick stand holding the weight lol.