The MT-07 Forum

New Member from Southern California

redharris

Hi everyone. New FZ 07 owner here. Only had the bike for 5 days. Lovin' it!!!
I'm an old hand with Bikes and have been riding since my teen years, (I'm 50 now).
I have owned Many different bikes over the years. From 1970's era CB125 to an '89 ZX10 (which was my last ride).
I had to stop riding bikes 10 years back due to an eye problem that was causing me to see Double upon occasion.
The problem was solved with a pair of prescription glasses, but it threw off my balance a bit and I didn't feel safe riding on the street.

Fast forward 10 years. My brain has had time to process the way my Eyeballs work, and I no longer have any vision/balance problems.
I've been riding a Dirt Bike for a couple years, and decided that I needed a Street Bike again. But, what to get????.....I no longer feel the need for a full blown Crotch Rocket. Been there done that. I started thinking about my Biking Roots and remembered one of my all time favorite rides. In my Twenties I had an old Yamaha XS400 Twin. I bought it for 300 bucks and spent a couple hundred more turning it into a Cafe racer.

Loved that thing and Rode it into the ground. Sounds sorta Familiar, doesn't it :) ..... I knew the FZ 07 was special the moment I layed eyes on it for the first time in person. Did some research,,,,and Yeah.....it has a few flaws,,,,but it's perfect for me right now and I am so Stoked to have purchased it!

Mine is a Red 2015. Wanted White, but Red is really growing on me. Saved a few $$$ buying a 2015 that was left over now that the 2016's are in. No mods yet. Still too new. There IS one thing thats Bugging me. The seat is too slippery and I keep banging my knards into the Tank at stop lights. Definitely needs a new seat cover. Of course,,,, that rear tail light/license plate holder has to go....lol. Other than that, I'll need a 1000 miles or so to become familiar enough to evaluate what else needs to be done and in what order.....