The MT-07 Forum

Advice and tips for carrying a passenger for the first time

ShiftHer

I've been riding for 3 years, so I'm not technically a "new" rider. However, I will be carrying a passenger for the first time this weekend, so I feel that I'm a new rider in that sense. 

For reference, I'm 5'7 and my passenger is 5'11. Combined, we'll be just a touch over the maximum load rating with all our gear on. Prior to heading out, I'll get a feel for acceleration, braking, and turning in a parking lot. We'll just be doing a short ride, 15-30 minutes, in a low traffic area with good pavement and a few stoplights/signs and turns. The speed limit is between 30 and 45 mph in that area, so won't be going faster than that. 

I want to make this as positive an experience as possible for her (and me!). So, I wanted to ask if anyone has any advice, tips, must do's, or don't do's about riding 2 up? Anything specific to FZ-07 would be welcome (preload setting, tire pressure, etc.), as well. 

Here is a video I found that might help

regarding preload and tire pressure just go by the manual.I rarely take a passenger so I am sure others will chime in.

• Premium Member

I tried but I'm a Fat azz and I didn't care for having a passenger at all. I'd take a short ride with some one first.

2015 FZ-07 2003 2014 GSXR 1000