The MT-07 Forum

Well, I laid her down.

No Hater

• Premium Member

Well, I finally laid her down. First and foremost, Im fine. I only have a little scratch on my left knee from touching the ground (I was only wearing jeans).  I had all my other gear on (helmet, gloves, jacket, boots).  

I did a total noob mistake. I sprayed the rims with some rim cleaner making sure not to get any on the tires. I even took the time to really wipe the tires down after I washed it just to make sure. It appears that that the inner rim still had some cleaner on it and of course sprayed outward when I left my neighborhood and got on the tire. 

I was making a U-turn at no more than 2mph, I was actually anticipating the front tire giving out in fear of this exact situation (trying not to turn too sharp) and before I knew it, the front tire slide ride out like it was on ice.  I immediately pulled the bike up, threw it in neutral and rolled her to the side of the road. It was a big intersection so a couple people stopped to see if I was okay. [/img] 

THANK YOU OES sliders!  On the down side I bent the gear shifter (of course) and the heim joint with it.  Nothing else even touched the ground. My bars or clutch lever didnt even touch. 

Overall, its a big nail in my pride, $40 mistake and some ugly lookin sliders.  Luckily for me this didn't happen at high speeds.

The cheapest I could find the gear shift lever was $30 with $10 shipping. 
http://www.stadiumyamaha.com/oemparts/partsearch/yamaha_motorcycle     (1WS-18110-00-00)
, Shift Pedal Assy

Any veterans have any tricks on cleaning the tires from any type of oil? 

• Premium Member

Glad you weren't hurt, and that's pretty minor damage. Like you said could have been worse, and I think most people who have ridden much have had similar experiences. Get 'er fixed, and jump back on!

Why can't left turners see us?