The MT-07 Forum

Should I bend more or get a windscreen? Edited by Cruzin

canadianbacon

So I am new to naked bikes, had 3 cruisers previous to this baby, one without a windshield.
I never felt the wind as bad as on this Yammy, at 80 mph (130km/h) is simply hell, I have to hold onto the handlebars for my dear life. There is no fun whatsoever, and I dont see 80 mph as being that drastic of a speed. 
I was thinking about getting the Puig Touring windshield, but besides that, am I too much of a p&^ssy  and this is the way you all guys ride? Like a kite in a storm? 
- 5'9", 185lb, leather jacket, full face Bell Vortex.
My communing is mostly on the highway .

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Stop being a pu$$y, grip the tank with your knees, lean forward and ride.

But seriously... it's a naked. Minus putting a windscreen on, you'll get used to it eventually. Also your helmet can play a role, aerodynamically.

• Premium Member

I guess I am just use to it. 200lb 6'2" I simply lean over a bit and its all good. I will end up getting a screen at some point but, I don't have a problem at that speed. That being said, it is a drastic difference when traveling into the wind. Ive been on several long freeway trips when the average speed was at least 80 and leaning over, sliding back on the seat a bit is how I deal with it. It doesn't help if you have a bunch baggy clothing though. It really is not that big a problem for me. I guess I just take it as part of having a naked bike.

• Premium Member
Stop being a pu$$y, grip the tank with your knees, lean forward and ride. 
But seriously... it's a naked. Minus putting a windscreen on, you'll get used to it eventually. Also your helmet can play a role, aerodynamically.
+1