The MT-07 Forum

Question for upgrading front forks

noltz

• Premium Member

I'm gonna upgrade my front forks with the traxxion's spring only ($120 ones), what do I need to make the install and do i need to buy other parts to replace like bushings or seals (if so which)   etc etc, I am a newbie when it comes to front fork stuff so I need a helping hand for this, thanks!

• Premium Member

I hope pattonme will chime in here, because he's the guru, but the right springs will make a noticeable improvement (if they are chosen for your weight and riding style), but you have to choose the right fork oil carefully too, and go by Cst (not viscosity). Hopefully, you already have (or are getting) a fork lift.
You shouldn't have to do the bushings if your are just replacing the springs/fluids and they are in good condition now.

Why can't left turners see us?

• Premium Member

What fork oil should i go for? i know nothing about this lol, i live in El Paso, TX hot weather most of the time, already got the fork lift coming in, i saw another thread about the bushing being wrong?

You might be able to pull the springs w/o removing anymore than the bars, instrument cluster and then the fork caps. The springs will come straight out the tubes. You will need to support the bike's weight one way or another, obviously

But you will lose some fluid in the process and that can't really be measured properly w/o the forks completely removed and having them vertical. I think the proper fluid cSt (centi-Stoke) vis for this type of fork is in the low 30s - Belray, & Maxima 10Ws for example. Even Mobil 1 ATF fluid is in the ball park. You shouldn't need to change all the fluid, just top up to the proper fluid height with the spring out and forks compressed.