The MT-07 Forum

Steering stabilizerstabilizer

fvsilva

better answer. why do you think you need one? they are completely superfluous on a properly configured bike (unless FJ09 which seems exceptionally temperamental). Unless you're racing in which case you're required to have one.

bannerfans_1095431.jpg

and you're hitting them at 100kph? stabilizers are a help for restoring high speed stability in the event of a sudden and hard steering input (hitting a pavement anomoly) or the front end getting out of shape because you're so hard on the gas you lose trail and thus stability. If the bike feels vague and unsettled a damper won't help.

If you're getting shimmies, first check/adjust/fix suspension. Then check headstock bearings (new bike it's unlikely but possible). You're welcome to bling up your bike with a damper but it will just hide the underlying problem.

Or maybe you've done all that?

bannerfans_1095431.jpg

I am still a noob but from research I have done it seems many riders think of stabilizers as a safety instrument. In addition, most people I have come across with stabilizers have nothing but good things to say about the benefits of the device and the way it improved their bikes riding characteristics. I understand a stabilizer should not be used to cure issues or symptoms of a malfunctioning component. But isn't a steering stabilizer a valid device for safety and/or ride improvement for a street rider?

street rider? no. Either your riding at speeds so far above legal it's not funny, or there is something wrong with your bike, how it's loaded or adjusted. I will grant you that the cheap suspension on the FZ07 and similar is unsettling when pushed. A damper may seem like a quick fix. But that same $500 could go to fixing the actual problem for good.

Have you set sag and are the springs at both ends appropriate? Have you adjusted rebound damping at both ends as best you are able?