The MT-07 Forum

Racer and rider from Socal

zombiphone

'Sup people!

Just sold an SV650 and repaced it with an FZ-07 two weeks ago and figured I should hunt down a forum for all my Yamaha wrenching needs, so here I am.

As for who I am, I live in Los Angeles, and I've been riding for about 6 years, doing trackdays for 5, and racing for 3. I race a ninja 250 with CVMA and AFM in California with the occasional one off round with other organizations (because I have a problem), and I bought the fz intending to NOT put it on the track and build it into a psuedo adventure/touring bike, since I'm not tall enough for a real one :P

I think that sums up the important stuff. So yeah, looking forward to picking the collective brains of the fz community to make this bike into the best moto-camping street fighter ever!

Published 'Chronicles of a Motorcycle Gypsy' a book about my travels on the FZ, and a writer for Motorcyclist Magazine

Welcome aboard! Sounds to me like some street/trail tires, a tall windscreen, bags and some hand guards would be in order for starters. Show us some before and after pics some time. I'm interested in seeing what that would look like.

Beemer

So far I've ordered a touring screen, looking at some engine guards, and I'm still looking into what kind of hard cases to use for storage. Hand guards sound like a good call, too. I've got some soft Ogio saddlebags that I used on my SV, but they barely fit on the tail of the FZ, haha

All my modding in the past has been geared toward go-fast performance, so I feel like I'm starting from square one on tailoring a bike. It's gonna be a fun transformation! I'll put up a build thread once I start getting the parts in and hopefully I can make something cool :D

Published 'Chronicles of a Motorcycle Gypsy' a book about my travels on the FZ, and a writer for Motorcyclist Magazine