The MT-07 Forum

Fuses

squintyeyes

squintyeyes

Hello, was mounting my Motodynamics tail light when i blew the turn signal fuse. Anyone whos already changed some fuses have a suggested brand or something? This is my first time messing with any fuses or anything. I tried searching but no one talks about the specifics of fuses for our bikes. I know its a fairly simple part, but i just want to make sure i don't blow another one especially while riding because i picked some cheap amazon fuses. thanks for any help 

• Premium Member

Fuses are fuses....they are likely all made in some china back shop anyway. As long as you are replacing it with the same size/amp you should be okay. Although I don't claim to be an expert.

Pretty sure there's a spare or 2 in the box.

Don't recall what size those fuses are. There's a std size and a mini usually used in cars/bikes. The only difference is the physical size. They are frequently called blade fuses https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fuse_(automotive)

You can find these in any autoparts store. There's nothing at all special about them. Just make sure you use the proper rating - never use a higher rated fuse as a replacement. - if the original is 10A, you might be able to get by with 7.5A if you did not have a spare 10A. but it's risky to to to 15A in that case.

squintyeyes
Pretty sure there's a spare or 2 in the box.  
Don't recall what size those fuses are. There's a std size and a mini usually used in cars/bikes. The only difference is the physical size. They are frequently called blade fuses https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fuse_(automotive)

You can find these in any autoparts store. There's nothing at all special about them. Just make sure you use the proper rating - never use a higher rated fuse as a replacement. - if the original is 10A, you might be able to get by with 7.5A if you did not have a spare 10A. but it's risky to to to 15A in that case.