The MT-07 Forum

Introduction

pattonme

Maybe you'll recognize my handle from RiderForums and SVRider. In any event I've been offering a service for the past 10+ years to retrofit cartridge fork internals into a myriad of bikes equipped with 41mm damper-rod forks. These include such wildly popular platforms such as the Suzuki SV650, Bandit 400/600, and Katana 600/750, as well as Kawasaki's ZR7, Z750, EX6N, and Ninja 650R family, and Honda CB-1, CB750 and now NC700.

Early on in my riding career I found stock suspension to be downright unpleasant. Like most other folks I did the RaceTech GVE mod but struggled to find a useful combination of oil weight and pop-off spring. Completely fed up with the still lousy performance I looked around for cartridge forks in 41mm and discovered the Kawasaki ZX6F. I promptly slotted the entire guts and uppers into my ZR-7s of the time and the transformation was profound.

Back then the AK-20 didn't exist for damper-rod bikes though Max and I were both thinking the same thing: there surely is a market here. But I'm only a hobby machinist and I wasn't eager to compete in the professional suspension business. I designed my offering to be inexpensive ($300+) and yet retain all 3 adjustable settings: (slow) compression, spring preload, rebound. These savings are largely arrived at by recycling OEM parts (mostly Showa) and making the little pieces to do a retrofit. It does not hold a candle to the cosmetic beauty of Traxxion Dynamics' offering nor does it have their in-house tweaks. I'm limited by what Showa provides and what I can do on a 9" manual lathe. By comparison Max has a few million $$$ in state of the art CNC turning centers. But from a fluid control standpoint I think my valving stack is competitive and easily 90% as good.