The MT-07 Forum

New Guy From Southern Indiana

vodapas

Hello,

I just got back from forking over $500 to the local Yamaha dealer for the down payment for a Liquid Graphite FZ-07.  (Catch the pun there?)  Saying I'm ecstatic would be an understatement.  I can not wait to take delivery next week!  Even more so considering we'll be seeing 60+ degree temps by mid-week.

Anyhow, a little about me.  I'm a Chief Petty Officer in the Navy.  I'm currently stationed in Southern IN which I give you seems an odd place to plop a Sailor.  But, the roads around here are just about perfect for riding.  I've been riding since 2008.  I started on a Harley Sportster and then moved on to another Sporty.  Then one glorious day light shone down upon me and I realized that riding would be a lot more enjoyable riding something that didn't rupture a vertebrae and make my kidneys bleed every time I hit an expansion joint in the road.  So, I picked up an Honda NC700X and I've never looked back.  Not trying to hate on American bikes, just for me Japanese bikes are a better fit.  I am by no means an expertly skilled rider.  I tend to enjoy riding as cruising along at moderate speeds just enjoying being out for the ride.  Typical old man stuff.  8-)

My FZ-07 is the fourth addition to my garage as well as the "we have reached maximum capacity" bike.  I am now at the point that if I get anymore toys my car will have to move to the drive way.  I currently own the NC700 I mentioned earlier, a Ninja 300 I share with my wife, and DR-Z400SM.  I think FZ-07 is going to be the perfect fit for my "fun bike".  Don't get me wrong, my dizzer is a blast.  But, much more than 45 minutes on the wooden plank they call a seat and you're crying for mercy.