The MT-07 Forum

Post LowSide Blues-My front wheel needs to be aligned...

magsz18

Ok guys, ive got a question but before i ask, one thing i will say is "if you want something done right, do it yourself".
I am new to bikes and i am having a really hard time finding mechanics that i trust.

I googled, youtubed and searched my butt off to see how one goes about aligning the front wheel of a motorcycle and while it doesnt seem complex, given that this was my first accident, i figured a pro should take a look at it to make sure the forks, brakes and everything else was as it should be.

285 dollars later, my front wheel, to ME still looks crooked and the bike is not riding straight.  The wheel is cocked to the left and i feel like im putting more pressure on the right side of the handlebars to get the bike to run straight.  The wheel is also not visibly centered in the front mudguard/fairing but to be honest, i never looked at it that closely prior to my taking a slip and slide.   Im also not sure if i bent my handlebars or what but i doubt it considering this was a super low speed lowside, like 10 mph and the bike sustained barely any damage.  Then again, almost 400 pounds on a piece of tubular aluminum can do strange things...

Im at a point where i simply dont trust anyone to do this right and im wondering if im making a mountain out of a molehill.  Should i just go ahead and get a paddock stand and align the darned thing myself using string, or this videos method:

So, what are your thoughts guys?  Any help for a new rider would be genuinely appreciated because this is getting tiresome trying to find a good mechanic.  The first ass that i went to didnt torque my rear wheel axle nut after "servicing my chain and performing the 600 mile service".  I rode the thing home to find that the bolt was hand tight.  In addition, the right side chain adjuster bracket was at the back and the left side was on the first hash mark......sigh...

• Premium Member
crazycracka501