The MT-07 Forum

Checking in from New Hampshire

nhdon

Hi all.
Just wanted to introduce myself and provide a little background about myself and motorcycles.

Grew up in Pennsylvania and after a career in the Navy Submarine Force, settled down in New Hampshire.
I presently work doing Tech Support and R&D for a small Medical Equipment company and previously worked for a firearms manufacturer after leaving the Navy and re-educating in the IT and Information assurance fields.

I started riding at 8 years old with a Sear's Mini Bike and graduated over the years to dirt bikes then street rides.

First street bike was an AMF 350 Sprint single which I purchased when I was 14 years old.
In 1986 I moved to Japan for a billet in the Navy and picked up a Honda CB 250 to get around on. After getting my International MC Licence, I upgraded to a Yamaha FZX-700 Fazer which I returned to the stated with. The Fazer eventually was traded in for a Suzuki Katana 750, which was later traded in for a Suzuki Bandit 1100.  The Bandit didn't last 1000 miles since the seat was like sitting on an old couch, it was traded in for a 1997 Ducati Monster 900.
I lived on the Duc for years, riding  year round except on snow days. While I had the Ducati, I added a Bimota YB-11 and a Triumph Adventurer to the collection.
Time change and some of the bikes had to go but I hung on to the Ducati up until two years ago when but myself and wife lost our jobs due to a factory./business shutdown.  I sold the Ducati off to make ends meet.

Now two years later, I am able to get back into riding and had to weigh many options when selecting a new ride.
Price wasn't the biggest factor, but comfort, weight, and maintenance were at the top of the list. The FZ-07 hit all the marks I was hoping for.
I did look at the 09 but decided the I liked the weight and smaller feel the 07 had so on Veterans Day, myself and the granddaughter made our way to the dealer and picked one out.