The MT-07 Forum

Looped FZ 07 2016

TheCharms

Looped my new to me FZ 07 doing something stupid that I should not have been doing. Got some damage to the tail, rear set, and leaking coolant, front forks seem to be twisted as well. What parts are needed to repair this and is it worth it to repair out of pocket or use my insurance? I am new to this so any info would be great! The bike was dropped going slow like 10-20 miles an hour. 

2EB50EE8-06B8-4217-9F2E-CD1269F260CF_1_105_c.jpeg

E1895812-4FAF-4EB8-BFF5-8984EA5A153F_1_105_c.jpeg

• Like 1

M. Hausknecht

Didn't you buy insurance, just in case?

In any event, how good are you with tools and fixing busted stuff? The busted stuff I see is easily repaired, and forks are easy to swap. What you don't know is whether the triple clamps are twisted, the axle bent, or worse, the frame. I mention the later because the frames on these bikes are wimpy, and bend fairly easily when subjected to loads not encountered in the ordinary course of riding.

• Thumbs Down 1

The deductible is $500 so I do not know if it will be worth it. That's only if the damage to the front fork is minimal. What are some ways to see what is wrong with my fork? 

The rearsets Woodcraft?  Those pieces are easily replaced for not a lot of money and the bent pieces are easily bent back.

However if you have fork damage combined with the rear damage will probably be over $500 unless you go bargain hunting.  What you need to ask yourself is whether or not it's worth taking the hit on the higher premium which is more then likely to happen if you file a claim.

Twisted forks can be a big deal or not.  It could as simple as a bent triple clamp that can easily be bent back to true, to bent tubes which if you know what you're doing is not a big deal to fix, to a bent frame which could be repairable or complete junk at this point.