The MT-07 Forum

SPEARS thinner head gasket

Tpadden

I have my stock (exhaust/mapped/autotune/hordpower air box) motor being pulled to install a undercut/micro polished transmission.  Does it make sense to go ahead and install a thinner head gasket .10 ($90) will the motor is out, or any other relatively cheap mods? Don’t plan on spending big money on a full SB build since I’m still an amateur and it’s not HP that’s holding me back.

Yeah bumps up compression is my understanding.  If I can gain 1 or 2 hp for relatively cheap since my motor is already gonna be out that’d be nice.  Just wondering if I can get that result or if it’s a waste my time if I don’t plan to do any other engine work at this time.

1 hour ago, Tpadden said:

Yeah bumps up compression is my understanding.  If I can gain 1 or 2 hp for relatively cheap since my motor is already gonna be out that’d be nice.  Just wondering if I can get that result or if it’s a waste my time if I don’t plan to do any other engine work at this time.

Imo, you’ll never notice the 1-2hp difference and it’s not worth pulling the head strictly for a new gasket if you don’t plan on doing any other work on the engine.

M. Hausknecht

I'd at least ask Gregg if, in his experience, there are any valve-to-piston contact issues with stock pistons and cams with the thin head gasket. I've been told by a very reliable source not to cut either the head or the cylinders to increase compression but i didn't ask about thinner head gaskets.