The MT-07 Forum

Help me spend $1000 this winter!

joegeis

Had the bike a couple of months now and like all of you, I'm absolutely in love with it!  I want to invest into performance mods this winter, in order to show the bike some love and get it ready for an awesome riding season next year, as well as giving me the opportunity to learn more about bike mechanics and giving me something to do since I won't be riding in the Illinois winters! Luckily I have a heated garage.

How can I best spend $1,000 on performance parts?  I nearly 100% ride backroads (albeit 'spiritedly'), I'm a beginner rider and I weight 190lbs.

The only performance related mod the bike has right now is this super cheap exhaust the previous owner installed.

I'm all about value for the dollar, given this is an entry level bike.  

Give me your suggestions and I'll make it happen!

20211001_185158.jpg

I'd spend the money on some decent bags so you can carry things and maybe do some longer trips with camping.  If there's any money left over you can use it for gasoline, oil changes, and other maintenance.

The bike is pretty well set up from the factory, especially for someone new to riding, and you're not going to gain a lot of HP with mods. 

• Like 1

• Premium Member

SUSPENSION....... Front and rear. You can pick up a decent entry-level aftermarket shock for about $500.  I personally run K-Tech on all my bikes. Up front- at a minimum, get some "straight rate "springs for your body weight (about $110- $140). I went to the next level and did a Traxxion Dynamics AR-25 kit for $379 (which includes springs). You most like won't realize how bad the OEM/stock suspension is until you upgrade it. 

• Like 6

""W.O.T. until you see god, then brake"