The MT-07 Forum

Does my chain need cleaning?

Julian

New owner here, I've only had the bike a few days. The bike is 4 months old but it does have 5000 km already. I do not know if/when the chain was last cleaned and lubed. I also don't want to mess with it if I don't have to 😅

The chain does not look dirty and the rollers are not shiny. It's light gray on the outside and feels sticky to the touch. 

20210723_174517.jpg

The color, lack of grime, and stickiness makes me think it has been properly lubed with a wax based chain  lube. 

I've tried Maxima Chain Wax but found it remained sticky enough to collect road dirt.  Then I went to DuPont Chain Saver, which dries non-sticky, and I've been using that for a few years now.  It's available in spray and liquid versions.  The spray is nice, but I like using the liquid and a brush because of the lower cost and lack of overspray.

• Like 2

When it comes to the chain, when in doubt do it. It'll last much longer and you'll be more familiar with the machine and notice things before they become mission critical.

The easiest thing to do is get a can of chain cleaner, a can of chain wax and a grunge brush. (Maxima or whatever brand you like) Cleaner on, brush, blow or wipe clean/dry. Then a light coat of wax. Do it every 500 miles or so after your ride while the chain is warm. Takes 5 minutes, your stuff will last much longer, you'll be much safer and happier.

Cheers,

Dave

• Like 3

I try to scrub the chain on my street bikes no more than 3 tanks of fuel. Every other tank makes me happy. No point lubing a dirty chain.  I'd consider your chain filthy IMO. Not being rude, just being honest. 

I just recently replaced my stock chain at 24,000 miles. It wasn't loose or "stretched" at all, the orings just got old and started coming off. Sprockets still look new. I'm a big fan of Belray's Super Clean chain lube.

Edited by shinyribs

These are my thoughts and practices, different riders have different practices and opinions.