The MT-07 Forum

Advice on MT-07 mods

BruceWayne911

BruceWayne911

Hey everyone, I'm new to motorcycling and decided to purchase a 2019 MT-07. The first few mods that I'm going to do is get a radiator protector and get frame sliders and axle sliders. I am 300lbs and I've been told that the suspension on the MT-07 is lacking. Which should I do first upgrade the suspension or buy a aftermarket exhaust? 

The exhaust I want is the Akrapovic Carbon Fiber or Carbon Fiber Titanium. Also when installing a full exhaust system are there any extra parts you need to purchase?

Edited by BruceWayne911

I am probably more biased than most against exhaust swaps, but I think you'd get way more bang for your buck out of suspension work. 

If you're handy, you could just start with fork springs/oil/spacer for relatively cheap (~100 for springs, ~15 for oil, idk for spacer but it would be pretty cheap, plus a couple dollars for random tools you may not have) and a couple hours of your time, and have the front set up pretty well for your weight.  Then do the rear for ~550-650.

You could also spend more on the front for a more adjustable set-up of course, if you so desire.

If you do the work, you would end up all in for less than the cost of the exhaust, and probably see way more benefit, but that's my opinion. 

Also when installing a full exhaust system are there any extra parts you need to purchase?

Yeah, budget another ~$250 for a tune, 2wheeldynoworks is a goto and forum supporter.

Edited by ducarmont
  • Like 4

• Global Moderator

I would definitely do the suspension first.  The exhaust will just make the bike louder and may or may not increase the power slightly.  Suspension makes a huge difference, especially for us heavier guys.

• Like 3

• Premium Member

The stock suspension was quite lacking in my 200lb+ experience and was the only bike I've owned that I've ever felt needed a suspension upgrade.