The MT-07 Forum

So I stopped by the Triumph dealer the other day...

Guest MXRider

Guest MXRider

I had some time to kill last Friday after work and I was in the area of a Triumph motorcycle dealer so I decided to stop in. As I walk in the door I am greeted by this beauty on a race stand, the 2015 Daytona 675R in matte black.

image.php?image=1&id=2015dayto675r&size=data

Nearly everything about this machine just speaks to me. The Öhlins NIX 30 forks and TTX36 shock, the Brembo monoblock calipers with ABS, a factory installed quick shifter, carbon bits everywhere, a beautifully crafted triple engine with loads of power, grippy Pirelli Supercorsa tires, and the gentlemen's graphics. I'm a bit of a tech nerd, and I love kitted out bikes more than I probably should, so bikes like these really draw me in. There is something about their level of refinement and attention to detail over the base machines that speak to me in ways no other inanimate object does. Like that girl that is out of your league but somehow you get a chance to date anyway.

It's kinda funny since I didn't really have much desire to get a true sport bike again after my Honda 600RR race bike got sold, but lately I've been getting that itch again. The desire to own a machine that is far more capable than I am. One with high end parts everyplace you look, and that unmistakable panache that only comes with exotic machines.

I've booked a test ride on a base model for Saturday (no rides on the R currently), weather permitting of course. Wish me luck.

• Global Moderator

That looks fantastic. I hate to ask what it costs (I know, if I have to ask I cannot afford it :) ). Let us know what you think after the test ride. I have a friend with a Street Triple and that is a nice bike to ride.

Guest MXRider