The MT-07 Forum

Brand "NEW" FZ8 for $5,999 OTD vs FZ-07 what to do!

belleau1977

• Premium Member

Okay all I have been doing is checking out the FZ-07 for the past 6 months while I've been in Spain for a 15 month short tour for the Air Force and I have only seen nothing but good on this bike. In Spain at the dealer they have several MT-07's in stock so I got to at least sit on it prior to coming home halfway and test riding a new one in St. Charles, MO at Big St Charles Motosports. Totally sold on the bike before the test ride and now after. Okay now the issue the place I test ride the FZ-07 told me Black Friday only I might be able to get the leftover 2013 model OTD price of $5,999 if I commit but I will know more tomorrow from the dealer I'm working with. I didn't test ride the FZ8 but did sit on one in Spain which I did notice with my 6'0" and 220 lb frame the bike fit me better and the seat was nice also more so than the FZ-07. Also the shape of the gas tank for my legs is what helped the fitting of me. The Fz8 gets a low 39mpg vs the FZ-07 at an awesome 55-60mpg. I've had 18 bikes in 20 years and have had two Z1000's prior for 2003 and 2004 models. I've learned that as long as a motorcycle can pass traffic on the interstate that's all that matters as all bikes go 100mph really and anything over the speed limit is a ticket. Just wanting a bike to have fun on but yet also do some touring locally on it for 100-200 mile weekend rides. The otd price of $5,999 is killing me though but I don't know about the 39mpg and from what I've researched 120-140 miles before the fuel light comes on is what I want to look forward to? My wife told me 39mpg is still good gas mileage so I do agree just not compared to the FZ-07. Your thoughts?